August Wrap Up and September TBR

Hey everyone!! It’s that time of the month again where I take a look back on what I’ve been reading and make plans for the next month. I haven’t been blogging as regularly as I wish I could have been because school has been super busy but it’s good to be back so I can share things with you guys.

monthly wrap up

real life

  • I have exams starting on Monday that I really don’t feel ready for
  • I haven’t been getting much sleep recently which isn’t great
  • I can’t believe the year is going by so fast!!
  • I am nearly in my last year of high school
  • I am really motivated to get back into writing, unfortunately school is keeping me busy at the moment
  • I am going to cut back my posts from three a week to two a week just to make things more manageable. I am now going to be posting on Tuesday and Saturday
  • I am also going to cut back on the Top Ten Tuesdays that I am doing just because I feel like my answers are getting repetitive

 

planned to read

17378527 23437156 28933383 28588345 31450960 26156203 8175847 18367859

 

actually read

28686840Holding Up The Universe

four stars

I just really liked Jack. Seeing how he dealt with his condition was what first drew me into this series so seeing how that played out was great. There were so many laughable moments in this book and I really appreciated it. As much as I liked Libby’s character I did find her a bit annoying sometimes. She was very self righteous, and some of the choices she made were questionable. And she seemed SO much more self reflective than teenagers actually are. Plus the romance seemed kind of unrealistic to me.

O9VUSY0 (6)

23437156Six of Crows

five stars.png

I really enjoyed the characters and heists are things I love. I really liked all the clever things they did, and all the plot twists were really cool, especially the one at the end. The stakes kept getting higher and I was completely sucked in by this story. I loved seeing other uses for magic than was used in the Grisha trilogy and the idea of the drug was super interesting, it made this world seem a bit more industrialized which was interesting to see because fantasy doesn’t often have that. I do feel like the book was kind of overhyped for me.

O9VUSY0 (6)

18806245

The Shadow Cipher

three stars

I just think I wasn’t the intended audience. I am (1) not in the middle grade age range, (2) not necessarily a fan of steampunk which this book kind of was, and (3) have very high standards for ‘The Da Vinci Code’-esque stories and usually find them disappointing. Plus there were no real “aha” moments. A lot of the figuring out of clue just involved looking at things until you overheard someone speaking about something related.

O9VUSY0 (6)

8175847Unaccustomed Earth

three stars

I had to read this book for school. I really enjoyed some of these short stories, but I found the writing quite slow.

 

O9VUSY0 (6)

17378527The Raven King

five stars.png

THIS WAS FREAKING AMAZING AND I AM NOT OKAY.

Honestly this is my favorite book I have read all year, and I can’t explain how I feel in so little space so look out for my review that will be coming soon.

 

I will read

28933383 28588345 31450960 26156203 19547856 31450852 29523636 29385546

What did you read this month?

comments

10 thoughts on “August Wrap Up and September TBR

  1. I read queen of shadows and empire of storms (I needed to be ready for tower of dawn), Lola and the boy next door, Simon vs the homosapiens agenda and I’m almost done with the hate U give :)
    Next month I want to read they both die at the end and the Raven cycle (all 4 books) and tower of dawn if I have time :)
    Great article!

    Like

    1. Ooh sounds like you had a good reading month! I loved Queen of Shadows, Empire of Storms and The Hate U Give. I recently finished The Raven Cycle and they are amazing!! I hope you adore them as much as I do. I am really interested by Adam Silvera’s books but I haven’t picked any of them up yet.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I NEED WARCROSS RIGHT NOW WHAT IS LIFE.

    AHEM!

    I am so glad you liked Six of Crows. CRooked kingdom HITS YOU WITH THE FEELS THO!! I love ATPB but Holding Up The Universe was NOT FOR ME. I found it SO unrealistic and while I ‘liked’ some of the characters I found it boring and the messages were great but the diversity felt forced and the characters seemed defined by being ‘fat’ or their condition.

    Good luck with exams and next month!

    Like

    1. AHhh YES!! Once my exams are over I am going to go and buy Warcross and it will be amazing. I haven’t read ATBP but I can see where you’re coming from with Holding Up The Universe. The diversity did feel a bit forced and the character’s weren’t defined by other characteristics but I just found Jack’s condition so interesting.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. *FLAILS WILDLY BECAUSE YOU LOVED THE RAVEN KING TOOOOO* 💙💙💙 I mean. Perfect book is perfect. 😍 I also thoroughly adore the Six of Crows books and I TOTALLY agree about Holding Up the Universe. I loved Jack but Libby’s self-righteousness really grated on me. But I did enjoy all the Supernatural references. 😂😂

    Good luck with the upcoming exams!! *sends chocolate*

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Omg, seriously, though, this year has just flown by. I’m not ready for it to end.

    Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda is SO GOOD. I’m excited for you to read it!

    I ended up reading/listening to quite a lot, but the page count was actually lower than July, haha. Here’s my August recap 😊

    Like

Leave a Reply

