Hidden Gems in Fantasy

This week’s top ten tuesday topic is Hidden Gems in …. I found this topic really difficult, I couldn’t find ten hidden gems in any topic. I considered doing something other than fantasy, but in the end I ended up back with fantasy.

top ten tuesday

So I’m going to classify “hidden gems” as books you might not know about and books I really want to see more people talking about. Except if you read by blog at all regularly then you’re going to know nearly half of the list… woops…

O9VUSY0 (6)

The Obernewtyn Chronicles

If you haven’t heard me talking about this series then Hi, you must be new here… This is my favorite series of all time but I see basically no hype about it. I mean suuuuure it’s a bit older, but it’s freaking awesome so there really should be more hype about it.

3233802 1961316 1809343

This book is a hidden gem because it is amazingly clever and far before it’s time. It has magic, rebellions and dystopian themes.

O9VUSY0 (6)

Keeper of the Lost Cities

This is another one of my favorite series that I have heard basically nothing about. This is the series that introduced me to the online community and the fans I have met are amazing. If anyone else reads this let me know! This was the first book I read over and over again.

12842828 13260670 13260668

This series is a hidden gem because the characters are just amazing and I love how they interact.

O9VUSY0 (6)

The Seven Realms Series

This is a fantasy series I expected nothing from but it totally surprised me. I loved it! The plot kept me so engaged and I found it completely shocking how things turned out.

6342491 7801229 9409469

This series is a hidden gem because it is one of my favorite fantasy worlds and I think it really needs to be more popular and talked about.

O9VUSY0 (6)

The Study Series

I read this series quite a while ago and I really loved it. The characters were really interesting and I loved the world. This was one of my first high fantasy series so maybe that’s why I am so attached to it.

6691056 6796450 18908843

This series is a hidden gem because of how strong the characters are.

O9VUSY0 (6)

The Three Doors Trilogy

This series may be aimed at slightly younger readers but it is so clever!! I loved trying to figure out what was going on and the fantasy world was so well developed.

11962191 13575605 15757202

This series is a hidden gem because it is a fast one that is great for bridging the gap between kids and teens.

O9VUSY0 (6)

HIVE

This series was my life for a while, and it’s actually super cool. At least the first book is really awesome, after a while it starts to go downhill but all long middle grade series start to do that.

6150147 3205548 4617762

This book is a hidden gem because it has some super awesome kids having really cool adventures.

O9VUSY0 (6)

have you read any of these books? what did you think of them?

comments

28 thoughts on “Hidden Gems in Fantasy

  1. oh oh I have heard the Obernewtyn books!! I actually got given like the 6th book and it’s SO HUGE it’s actually terrifying me.😜 But I would love to try them all eventually for sure *nods* And also I loooove the Seven Realms books and they’re so fun and sassy and magical and clever! AMAZING PERFECTION. MORE PEOPLE NEED TO READ THEM.

    Like

    1. Yeah they are pretty massive. I don’t know why eleven year old me looked at book five and thought getting involved in that was a good idea, but they are amazing.

      The Seven Realms books were so clever!!! That is my favorite thing to read about, books being clever. That series made me feel so many things so it had to make this list.

      Like

  2. I’ve heard of a couple of these like the Study series, Keeper of the Lost City series, and the Seven Realms books. I haven’t gotten to read any of them yet but I am familiar with the buzz. Some of the others like the Three Doors look really interesting may have to check them out! My Top Ten

    Like

  3. HIVE!! I think i only read the first three books in the series but I remember really loving it- the premise, the adventure. It was great!

    Seven Realms and the Study series are on my TBR. I’ve heard lots of good stuff about them. Hopefully I’ll get to them soon (I love fantasy series and strong characters).

    Like

  4. I’ve heard REALLY good things about THE STUDY SERIES. In fact, everything I’ve seen has been positive, which made me think I should pick them up. Alas, I haven’t. Yet. :) Thanks for the reminder!

    Like

  5. Yes, yes, yes, and 1000 times yes to The Seven Realms series. It’s such an incredible series that Chima developed with interesting characters (Han is SUCH a fantastic protagonist), and a complicated political and magic system. More people need to give that series a chance. I also can’t wait to read Poison Study soon. I’ve heard nothing but fantastic things. :)

    ~ Aimal @ Bookshelves & Paperbacks

    Like

  6. I’m so excited to read this list, because the Study series was one of the first proper YA fantasies (before I’d only read kids or adult fantasy) I’d ever read, when I was 15ish, and it BLEW MY MIND. It was the first book I read that made me realize that I LIKE ROMANCE and that older teenagers can have their own books too. That series will always hold a place in my heart.

    I’m also fascinated to hear all this praise for the Seven Realms, because I enjoyed the first one but didn’t think it was anything special, so I never picked up the rest! Have I made a crushing error?? What is this cleverness of which you speak!?

    I’ve also read the first two Hive books! I don’t think I really liked them, and it was so long ago, back in the days when I was 12 and obsessed with anything that looked like it might be Alex Rider 😃

    Like

    1. The same thing happened to me with the Study series although I read it a few years earlier. I think for a lot of people now that series is Throne of Glass but The Study series will always be so special to me!!

      With Seven Realms I would recommend reading the second one because it gets better as you go, but I really enjoyed the first one so maybe that’s just me? Someone lent me the whole series so I read them all in a really short period of time. I will have to reread them soon so I can actually write a review!

      The HIVE books are more middle grade, and I think they were possibly a case of the kids spy school being a trope I LOVE so I overlooked a few flaws. The later books in the series got a lot more complicated and daring though so it was worth it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

