Blue Lily, Lily Blue Review

I am writing this very soon after finishing Blue Lily, Lily Blue which is the third book in the Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater.

It’s a bit of an understatement to say that I am fangirling over this book. I want to try to get all my thoughts out now so that I can dive RIGHT into the last book in the series.

This review WILL have spoilers for the previous two books in the series but not for this book.

If you are interested in my further thoughts on the series feel free to check out my reviews of The Raven Boys and The Dream Thieves.

review 1

If you haven’t started this series (which I am going to presume you have if you are reading this review) then here is quick summary of our cast:

  • Blue Sargent – a non psychic from a family of psychics
  • Richard Gansey III – a rich guy who wants to find a buried (but still alive) welsh king
  • Ronan Lynch – a guy who can dream things into reality who has has a dark sense of humor
  • Noah Czerny – ghost boy who is often quiet and sometimes creepy
  • Adam Parish – stubborn teen who doesn’t want to accept his friend’s help, also the hands and eyes of Cabeswater

The plot of Blue Lily, Lily Blue picks up after the events of The Dream Thieves where:

  • We found out a lot more about Ronan’s dreaming abilities
  • Adam became more in tune with the lay line
  • Blue’s mother disappeared

I feel like I don’t need to give much more of a plot summary than that so let’s move on.

review 2

9% – reading (well listening to the audiobook) of this feels so much like coming home. I have been reading a lot of slow books or classics recently so I am really enjoying something a bit more mystical and fast paced

32% – I am so glad to finally be back to this series, I really want to find out what ends up happening

60% – Ahhh I am loving it. So much has happened and it is amazing

98% – Ahhhhhh so much has happened in so short of a time

OMGGG this was massive. I am so glad that I have finally finished this book. The imagery and world building and oh damn. This book didn’t feel like anything groundbreaking, nothing amazingly shocking happened but the book continued to plod along at it’s constantly interesting pace. I feel like so much more could have happened in this book but I can’t rate it anything less than five stars.

Seeing more of Ronan was epic, I liked the introduction of the new characters, and additionally those final few scenes were EPIC. I love how Maggie Stiefvater writes, there are so many things omitted but it somehow works? I know the last one will be amazing so let me just go borrow it right now.

Basically I can’t form actual thoughts… sorry

review 3

I have found the covers of this series growing on me, I didn’t love the first one but after that I have liked them more with each book.

17378508 22978079 24715823 28579803

As with the previous books in the series this one has a lot of covers that are basically the same. Honestly I think I need to buy this whole series just to have them on my shelf.

26775506 31452695

  • The German cover remains utterly uninspiring. It always seems that whenever I’m really unimpressed by a book cover it’s the German one. Firstly this series, and secondly The Lunar Chronicles.
  • This version of the cover is absolutely beautiful with the silhouette and the cursive handwriting

review 4

  • The narration of the audiobook, as always, was amazing
    • I love the voices for all the characters, they really fit my picture of them and they really add to my experience of the book
    • The audiobook has music in it at the beginning and end which (1) always spooks me because I always forget about it and think it is coming from somewhere other than the audiobook and (2) is amazing and lovely and hearing the “Queens and Kings” song was magical
  • The writing in general – Maggie Stiefvater is a magician at using amazing metaphors and descriptions that are unique and cool and really help me get an insight into the character or tone of the scene
  • The world building continued to be great, I always felt like I could really see the scenes in my head
  • Characters were introduced so smoothly and their characteristics were revealed quick enough that I really felt like I knew them
  • This book really got the plot moving forwards, the previous two were a lot more about the character’s emotional journeys which was fun and necessary but it was good to see the main plot progressing in leaps and bounds
  • I finally felt like there was equal focus on all four of the raven boys
  • Some SPOILERY things I liked (they are vague though) – highlight over the dot points below to see
    • The development of Adam and Ronan’s relationship
    • Them actually having to face death
    • Seeing Gansey and Blue’s relationship develop
    • The characters actually having to deal with school
    • Ronan back at the barns
    • The introduction of Henry who was adorable
    • Colin and Piper’s interactions
    • Jesse Diddly who was amazing and I loved him

review 5

  • It still felt like in terms of actual events nothing happened? There wasn’t really a big moment where everything changed, it was a really gradual shift and that made the book a bit less exciting to read
  • There were some things omitted that I didn’t really like especially between the final big scene and the next chapter there were a few gaps that weren’t filled in, I really wanted to know what happened in the middle there
  • There was a lot of creepy singing in the audiobook from a certain character who sings a lot and that kind of annoyed me
  • The plot of this book wasn’t a full story with a lot of unresolved plot threads, but I don’t really mind
  • I would have liked for there to be some repercussions for the events of the previous book – Kavinsky’s death
  • This book had a lot of points of view that created a bit of a jumble of different scenes that didn’t feel connected
  • There were certain characters I wish we got to see a bit more of, a lot of the supporting characters tend to fade into the background which is understandable considering how massive the plot is and how many characters there already are but it doesn’t mean I can’t want more
    • Highlight over the blank spot on the next dot points to find out which characters I wanted more of **warning possible spoilers**
    • Ronan’s brothers Declan and Matthew who weren’t in the book at all
    • Calla – I think she’s my favorite so I always want more of her
    • Mr Grey who although a part of the plot never really had scenes that weren’t just for developing the plot
    • Persephone – she was missing most of the book and I really wanted to get to know her better as a character
    • Gansey’s sister Helen – I love her, where is she?
    • Gwenllian – how did she actually fit into the world realistically?
    • Artemis
    • Mallory – why was he even there in the first place??? I feel like he contributed nothing to the plot

review 7five-stars

what did you think of Blue Lily, Lily Blue?

7 thoughts on “Blue Lily, Lily Blue Review

  1. This series is one of my favorites, I’m so glad you loved it too!!!! I loved the review, I hope you enjoy The Raven King (you’re in for a rollercoaster of emotions) :)

    Like

    1. I am LOVING The Raven King although I haven’t been able to get that far into it yet. I’m so glad I finally got around to this series and I’m glad you like it too!

      Like

  2. I think this was definitely the slowest of all four books, but I’m glad to hear you enjoyed it nonetheless. I have such a special place in my heart for the characters in this series. Lots of complexity and the changing dynamics between characters is really rewarding to follow. Hope you enjoy the final book!

    Like

    1. I totally agree that these characters are so special and I think that the lack of action in the book is important in the character development so I don’t mind it. I am really enjoying The Raven King so far and I expect that to continue!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

