Overhyped Books

There are so many series out there with a massive amount of hype. Some of these series are deserving of it, others are not. However this is largely dependent on personal preferences.

There are many series that I find undeserving of the hype, so today I thought I would share a few of those. I want to take a moment to thank Ellyn from allonsythornraxx for giving me this idea with her overhyped books post.

Obviously this is just my opinion, so if you think otherwise that’s okay. I would be interested to hear your thoughts on these books in the comments so please do let me know whether you agree that they are over hyped or not.

 

Throne of Glass Series

Yes I have read this series, and yes I enjoy it, and yes I rated most of the books four stars, but still doesn’t mean this series isn’t VERY over rated. It seems like everyone has read this series, and most of those people love it. And maybe they are reasonably good, but they’re not the best high fantasy series out there by a long shot so I really don’t think they should be the face of YA fantasy.

13519397

 

The Book Thief

Yeahh I know people are going to hate me for it but I don’t think this book is deserving of the hype. I didn’t think it was anything special, I rated it three stars. I found the style of narration REALLY annoying and I can’t understand how people love this book so much.

19063

 

The Hunger Games

Yeah, the first book was good but after that it was mostly just Katniss whining about her love life and moping around doing nothing. I am still not sure how this trilogy blew up into the sensation it became, but I don’t think it was actually that deserving of it. It was alright, and yeah I liked it, but the amount of hype this series got was crazy.

12885649

 

Fangirl

I’m not one for contemporaries so maybe that’s why I didn’t love this book, but I still don’t understand how people think this is the epitome of ya novels. The main conflict of this novel was some form of miscommunication and Levi’s character was too perfect. The flaws he was given were either not flaws at all like him being too friendly and happy, or they were explained away like the whole “he only smokes when others do” thing. Really?????? Again I didn’t think this was a bad book but there is just so much hype.

16068905

 

Jane Eyre

Yeah I hated this book. I had to read it for school and I was only 14  and the writing was hard to get into and I wasn’t trying to like it so maybe that’s part of the reason. But let’s not forget about how Mr Rochester was so much older than Jane, that was just creepy. That pretty much sums up my feelings towards him, I found him creepy. So many events were unexplained or unnecessary, and Jane was not the “independent” and “unique” individual I had been led to believe. I really couldn’t enjoy this book.

10210

 

The Maze Runner

I actually loved the first book. I thought it was a really interesting premise and the plot unfolded in a really clever way. I enjoyed trying to figure out the secrets of the maze, and the characters were all really cool. However the second book was a mess. The rest of the world was poorly developed and the challenges they faced had no explanation. I haven’t read the third book in the trilogy yet but I feel like I need to so I can get some closure and understand what was going on.

12382940

 

 

The Red Queen

This series?? I don’t understand how people have such strong emotions about it? Everyone I have spoken to either raves about how much they love it or rants about how much they hate it. I thought it was just average and not deserving of the attention. In fact, I don’t even plan on continuing with the series. I just think it’s not worth my time.

22328546

 

Anything by Cassandra Clare

I haven’t actually read anything by her, but there is SO MUCH HYPE and I really doubt the books are that good. In order to be worthy of the hype these books have to be ones that my jaw is on the floor the whole time I am reading, and I know that isn’t going to happen. I might get around to one of her books eventually, but there are so many and the hype is so big.

24885537

 

Divergent

Yet another series I have never read. I did watch the movie, and although I know the movie is never as good as the book I really wasn’t interested in this series. I found the world building really interesting but I didn’t care about the plot or the characters at all thus why I watched the movie instead of reading the book. The amount of hype out there for this series was massive, it seemed like everyone and their uncle had read this book. I can’t really see the appeal.

13335037

 

Game of Thrones

I also haven’t read this series, but I don’t really intend to. One of my friends has read at least the first few books and she found them confusing and a bit repetitive. I love high fantasy, but I still don’t think this is really my jam. It sounds a bit interesting but the books are so long and I don’t feel like I would be able to get into it. But the hype is overwhelming, this series is a part of our society’s culture now in terms of fantasy because of the TV show.

409207

ah

Overall I’d say most books are deserving of the hype, and I am glad that there is hype because it helps more people find books.

what books do you believe are overhyped?

30 thoughts on “Overhyped Books

    1. As I mentioned I haven’t read any of them so I can’t judge on the writing, but the idea of them just doesn’t really interest me *hides under a book from all the people I have just offended*

      Like

  1. Aaaaah I loved your post! I totally back up your decision not to read CC’s books and to not read GOT. I’m only on book 3 of GOT (and still haven’t seen the show) but they’re really not that good, they’re mostly just violence and sex.

    It sucks that you didn’t enjoy The Book Thief, I’ve only read the first few chapters but the movie was so good that I automatically asumed the book would be amazing.

    Like

    1. Ahhh I am so glad you agree! The Book Thief wasn’t bad, just so many people had told me it was their favorite book that I was expecting it to be amazing, and the narration (which a lot of people like because it is unique) just didn’t work for me, the story was told in the first few chapters then elaborated on which I struggled to care about.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I loved Hunger Games and enjoyed The Book Thief as well. I read them at different moments of my life. Hunger Games spoke to me on deep societal levels, which is why I liked it. Book thief though I read for a holocaust literature course. It was well done in my opinion, but I was removed from any hype of it.

    Like

    1. I loved the Hunger Games when I read it and I really enjoyed the first one but it was downhill from there. I think I would have liked The Book Thief more if I read it in a situation like that, however I was quite thrown by it and my previous experience reading holocaust novels meant I wasn’t as emotionally involved/shocked by what was going on.

      Like

  3. Ahhhh Fangirl is one of my favourite books 😭 ah well, we’re not all going to love the same book! Also I LOVED divergent and the Hunger Games back when I read them. I feel like you Should give The Infernal Devices a try, I read it last year and fell in love with the characters and the world, everyone says it’s 1000x better than the Mortal Instruments! All the other books I want to read and see if I enjoy them or not

    Like

    1. I didn’t not like Fangirl, I just feel like with the amount of hype it got… Plus I also really enjoyed The Hunger Games when I read it. I do plan to give The Infernal Devices a try but I don’t want to commit to reading Cassandra Clare’s books yet because there are just so many.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I agree with most of these- Cassandra Clare’s writing is awful, she writes very fanfiction-y, I wouldn’t recommend reading her books, and I’ve read the original three Mortal Instruments ones. The second and third books of Hunger Games were terrible as well.

    Have to disagree about Book Thief though, it really deserves the hype, and then some. Marcus Zusak is actually my favorite author, he writes masterfully and very realistic. I could read his works every single day for the rest of my life.

    Like

  5. I didn’t enjoy the Book thief or the Maze Runner but I did enjoy Divergent series and Hunger Games.
    I haven’t read Fangirl but loved Eleanor and Park.
    Overrate books: Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover;
    Overrated series: Fifty Shades by EL James and Crossfire by Sylvia Day are my top overrated of all time; Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire; Beautiful Bastard series by Christina Lauren; Chicagoland Vampires by Chloe Neil; Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead; Dark Carparthians by Christine Feehan;

    Like

  6. SORRY DID YOU JUST JUDGE A BOOK BY IT’S MOVIE? Because this is not acceptable…? Don’t mean to come across as rude, but I get saying that you didn’t like the MOVIES and I’ve only read the books (currently reading Allegiant) not the watched the movies but you can’t say the BOOKS was undeserving of the hype…because you haven’t read them?

    I haven’t read The Book thief but watched it and I CRIED. See, i don’t know if the book is that good (I’m hoping it is) and I’m sad you didn’t enjoy it! I think it was probably, maybe the ending that had people hooked. Who knows. I haven’t read the book.

    Definitely, agree with you about The Maze Runner and The Hunger Games. The first books WERE FANTASTIC and they kind of went downhill from there which is sad. I LOVED THE FEVER CODE though, the prequel to The Maze Runner!

    I feel like some books just get hyped for some reason and then other rare little gems don’t and are so UNDERRATED and it’s kind of sad?

    Like

    1. I guess you’re right and I can’t fully judge the Divergent books, but considering the amount of hype they got (which was massive) I feel like it is unlikely the books would have lived up to it.

      The Book Thief is probably great in both forms I am just a rude human who wasn’t able to connect to the story or characters. I really want to be able to read The Fever Code, but that means I have to finish The Death Cure so we’ll see when I get to that.

      I totally agree that some books get SO much hype which creates totally unrealistic expectations, plus based on the preferences of individuals hype won’t always be real for everyone.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. I agree with you on throne of glass. I read the 3rd one and just didn’t want to continue. I also think they really should have been adult novels. I don’t think they have any business being ya. I like the game of thrones books, but he does write too much. I don’t think they are for everyone.
    Deanna Reads Books

    Like

    1. I kept going with Throne of Glass just because I had the books with me, and they aren’t horrible but I just feel like there could have been better directions for the plot to go.

      Like

  8. I agree with a lot of these. The Hunger Games was just okay, it wasn’t that special. Except for me I really loved The Maze Runner and I pretty much binged the whole series. I think it was the suspense and interesting plot that kept me going, but I think I need to give it a reread to make sure it’s as amazing as I remembered. Also The Divergent movies really really sucked compared to the books. The books are kind of like the hunger games, but I think there still worth a read. Great post!

    Like

    1. I loved the first maze runner book at the time it came out but I left it too long to read the second one and by then I had kind of stopped being interested. The plot was really fast paced which made it a great read.

      Liked by 1 person

  9. OH my goodness girl! You are killing me! I do have to admit that Fangirl definitely did not live up to the hype, I also was frustrated with his over perfectness, plus I kept skipping through all the fanfic sections. But I (not sarcastically) like how you pick every major YA book series to slam, that takes guts, especially in the book-blogging community. You go girl!

    Like

Leave a Reply

