OMG This Song Book Tag

Today I will be doing the OMG This Song Book Tag. This was created by Kate from Katesbookdate in early May… which I know was a while ago, but I was super busy and I have a lot more free time now and I have wanted to do this since I first saw Kate’s video. Basically for each of the topics you pick a song and a book that fits it, which sounds so unique. Recently a lot of my music has been from her recommendations, so this will be interesting.

 

MY JAM

A song you MUST listen to every time it comes on, no matter how old or how many times you’ve listened to it / a book you’ll never get sick of

This is so difficult to pick!! Why did this have to be the first question? I feel like my answer for this is going to change in the future so don’t hold me to it, but currently Destroyer by Saint Motel, or anything from their new album. I just love the vibe of this song (and album) because it has really strong rhythms/beats and the words actually have meaning and it is upbeat and fun.

In terms of books, I feel like I have to say The Obernewtyn Chronicles by Isobelle Carmody. Anyone who has read more than a few of my blog posts knows that I love this series, it is my favorite, and I have read it multiple times (although not the full way through – it’s a long story) so how could I not pick it? And yes, I do still intend to do a full reread this year… eventually…

 

THROWBACK

A song that reminds you of the cringest time of your life / a book that also reminds you of this time (or just something you wouldn’t like as much if you picked it up for the first time now)

I haven’t actually listed to music regularly for that long so I am struggling to find a song for this one, but maybe Army of Two by Olly Murs. This song was my holiday jam around five years ago on a trip with some friends. I wasn’t really into music at the time but we listened to this song for a good few days on repeat.

In terms of books, probably any of Cathy Cassidy‘s books. When I was younger I read so many of her books, and they’re all contemporary romance style books that I don’t tend to go for now but I read them obsessively. I feel like I wouldn’t get the same enjoyment out of them if I read them now.

 

REPLAY

A recent song you have on repeat right now / a recent favorite book

I only found this song a few days ago, but I am loving it at the moment. It’s Don’t Kill My Vibe by Sigrid. This song, just wow. It is stuck in my head completely.

As for a book, I am half way through the Grisha trilogy by Leigh Bardugo and I love her writing and the story, and one of my friend has said that Six of Crows is even better so I know that it will be a new favorite book…once I read it… is that allowed? I guess we’ll just go with it.

 

GETS ME

This song IS ME / this book is me in book form

Oh No from Marina and the Diamonds. There is no question about it, this song IS me. I have strongly related to other songs, but this was the first song I felt that way about and it is still so relevant now. This song means so much to me and I just… I can’t really describe how much I relate.

I struggled with this one to, I didn’t want to claim that a more popular series was me, because maybe it wasn’t. But then I was scanning my bookshelves and I saw The Seven Realms series by Cinda Williams Chima and it felt so right. This is an under rated high fantasy series that I loved. I will probably end up rereading it at some point too. But the magic system, the characters, the plot twists, this book was everything I wanted. It also has a lot of similar elements to the book I am writing, because obviously I want to write something that contains things I like.

 

WUT

Weird but I like it? – a unique book that stuck out to you for whatever reason

This has to go to the whole Glass Animals band, but specifically the first song I listened to from them which was Life Itself. This song has a really odd sound and it isn’t regular, but I really like that. Different parts of the song sound like completely different songs, but it all works?

The unique book that stuck out to me is Atlantia by Ally Condie. I read this book before I even tried to read her other trilogy (which I don’t plan on finishing) but I loved this book and I can’t really explain why. It was just very different to a lot of tropes in terms of setting and plot, even the pacing felt different but it worked. And the romance was done in a way that I wasn’t expecting and I loved it.

 

LET’S GO

Best pump up song (for workouts or just life) – a book that inspired you

Probably The Phoenix by Fall Out Boy. This song also doubles as one that I listen to when I am angry and it harnesses that anger into passionate singing. This song gets me ready to take on the world.

I don’t necessarily get inspired by books to make change in the world or anything, but I did read the autobiography of Jessica Watson which is called True Spirit and it made me be more hopefully about what I could achieve. I read this book when I was around 13 I think, and it was really uplifting to read about her life and how much she had been able to achieve. It made me wish that I was that talented at something, and it made me dream big. It is also scary to think that she sailed around the world while she was sixteen, I am sixteen now and that is so crazy that she did that.

 

CHILL

Fav chill, relaxing song / a book you’d curl up with and read on a rainy day

Palace by Hayley Kiyoko is a song that relaxes me greatly. It’s not necessarily my favorite of her songs, but something about it just has that calming quality. It’s a sort of song that I can imagine being played in the background while I am in a pool.

On a rainy day I tend to curl up with whichever book I am in the middle of at the time, so I struggled with what to pick for this one but I am going to settle on The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer just because I can imagine myself reading it while curled up inside.

 

ADDICTING

Guilty pleasure song – one that’s catchy and addicting but not a whole lot of substance / guilty pleasure/trashy/fast/light read

Talk Too Much by COIN. I listened to this song on repeat for like a week when I first heard it, it was so addicting, But listening to it now, I don’t feel the same interest. It’s still a good song but not one I could listen to for days without stop.

All of Kiera Cass‘s stuff. The Selection series was definitely like that for me, and I have The Siren on my shelf and I am expecting a similar story. I feel like this is a pretty typical answer, sorry about that.

 

NOSTALGIA

Throwback you look back on fondly / a book you read forever ago that you look back on fondly or reminds you of a happy childhood time

In terms of songs, I didn’t actually listen to heaps of music until recently so I don’t have many of these. The best song I can pick is probably The Kids Aren’t Alright by Fall Out Boy. This song was a big deal to me a few years ago and it is still very close to my heart even though I don’t listen to it as much now.

I have been looking back on some of my childhood reads and I could probably make a whole list of them (I probably will so look out for that soon) because there are so many awesome books I read. But I am going to pick two authors for this because I can’t possibly narrow it down any further. So firstly, Rick Riordan. The Percy Jackson series has followed me through my teenage years and has grown with me, and reading anything of his is so comforting.

Secondly, Emily Rodda. I don’t know if she is a big deal outside of Australia, but you might know her from the Deltora Quest series, the Rowan of Rin series, or The Three Doors trilogy. All of them are amazing and clever and developed my love of amazing plots.

 

I Tag

I’m going to tag a bunch of people because I am really interested to see people do this tag. I have tried to tag you all on twitter too, but a few of you I was unable to find on twitter.

But if you want to share a bit about you music taste then I would be super interested to see it, so please consider yourself tagged and leave me a comment with a link to your post.

6 thoughts on “OMG This Song Book Tag

  1. Thanks, Emma, for tagging me! I love the combination of music and books for this one. I’m so excited to do this and will try to keep all the Hamilton songs to a minimum. You’re going to love Six of Crows. That duology is one of my favorites (as well as everyone else’s). Will link back to this post, so you can have a look!

    Like

  2. Thanks for tagging me! I love Oh No! by Mariana and the Diamonds, so I’m definitely adding the Seven Realms series to my TBR if it isn’t there already!

    Like

    • Really?? I love her music. Combining music into the tag makes it really interesting and you get to learn more about bloggers other than their book preferences. I look forward to seeing your post.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

