Top Ten Uplifting Summer Reads

This week’s top ten tuesday topic is Summer Reads. The only problem with this topic is that where I am in Australia it’s winter. However the thing I associate with summer reads is a really fun and positive book so that is what I will be recommending today. And after my exams fun and uplifting reads are exactly what I need.

This is basically a list of books I plan to read after my exams or have read during exams before because that asks for a very specific type of book.

 

The Trials of Apollo series by Rick Riordan

I am currently reading The Hidden Oracle but The Dark Prophecy came out a few weeks ago so it’s a good option too. These books are middle grade, so can sometimes be a bit predictable, however they are very funny and as someone who has grown up reading Rick Riordan’s books they are so comforting and familiar to read. Revisiting the worlds and characters that I have known for so long is just like coming home or meeting up with old friends which is something that reminds me of summer (the theme). Plus Apollo (the main character in this series) is the sun god, which is also very fitting. These books are also perfect for after exams as you fly through them and there is limited brain power needed to follow the plot so you can give your mind a rest after all the studying and learning.

 

The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater

I have listened to the audiobooks of The Raven Boys and The Dream Thief during my exam weeks last year and they just fit so well with that state of mind for me. This series makes me yearn for adventures and close friendships and to me that just screams summer. I am looking forward to getting back into this series and seeing what sort of crazy adventures the gang gets up to, and then possibly having some crazy adventures of my own.

 

Caraval by Stephanie Garber

I just read this book before my exams (I liked it) and it was so easy to get through. The pacing was super fast and despite my impending exams I couldn’t put this book down. It didn’t make sense, the world or the plot or the character’s motivations, but the sooner that I accepted that and just kept reading the better off I was. This book forced me to accept that I couldn’t figure out what was going on and I wasn’t going to, I just had to go along for the ride. I liked that concept was so interesting and that’s the sort of fun thing I needed to keep me interested.

 

The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson

This book has just come in at my school library and I plan on borrowing it very soon. It’s a fluffy, upbeat contemporary romance with dogs… what more can you want? I haven’t actually read many fun contemporary novels but I really should. I like the idea of something fun and this really sounds like the sort of thing that I could read while sitting outside in the sun.

 

To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

This series sounds amazing and currently I am craving to read it right now. It just seems exactly like the sort of book that I could curl up and read while having no worries. I have heard so many good things about this series and I am interested to check it out. From what I have heard this book is the perfect summer read.

 

The Female of the Species by Mindy Mcginnis

I went through a few weeks when I really wanted to pick up this book that tackles some deeper topics than some of the others on this list, but I can’t find it at any libraries or shops near me so I will have to order it online. From my understanding this book is about feminism and friendship, and those a things I want in my summer.

 

The Love Interest by Cale Dietrich

When I first heart about this book I wasn’t super excited. I didn’t even read the full synopsis before deciding it sounded cliche and boring. However once I did read the synopsis? I am interested, very interested. And considering this book came out recently I might jump aboard the hype train and see whether it’s any good. Or I might just wait until some more people have reviewed it, we’ll see. The idea of spies is something I want to see more of, so maybe it will be just up my alley.

 

Not Your Sidekick by C. B. Lee

I have heard so many good things about this book. In my mind it is a super cute and uplifting novel, just the sort of thing you want to be reading in summer to get you hopeful for humanity. This book was brought to my attention because of the diversity it contains but it is also about superheros which I want to read more about anyway.

 

The Sun Is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon

So. Many. People. Love. This. Book. I feel like I need to read it asap. Plus it just sounds so cute. When I am in the mood to read a romance novel this is the sort of cute contemporary I am in the mood for. Now I just need to get my hands on it. I feel like I could read this book in a day.

 

Royce Rolls by Margaret Stohl

I actually have this one on my shelf, it’s about a girl who’s family has a reality tv show. It sounds like a really cool concept and I am interested to check it out. Trashy reality tv shows are exactly the sort of thing I watch in summer when I have all the time in the world, and I have heard that this book is quite ironic in its representation of reality tv and I am pretty excited to read about that.

 

Let me know if you’ve read any of these books and which one you recommend I read next

14 thoughts on “Top Ten Uplifting Summer Reads

  1. The Raven Cycle is one of my favorite series! I really think it’s perfect for every season. :) The only other one I’ve read is To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before. I still need to read the third one, though. It’s very cute, so be prepared to “awww” a lot. And also maybe have cookies handy. xD
    My TTT

    Like

    • Cookies and reading is the perfect combination, and I find that in the summer holidays I am completely in the mood for a cute book that makes me go “awww” so To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before sounds like a good option.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Great list! I really enjoyed The Unexpected Everything and To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before. I’ll probably be re-reading Jenny Han’s series soon since the 3rd book was just released. I really want to read The Love Interest–it sounds really intriguing!

    ~ Lefty @ The Left-Handed Book Lover
    My TTT!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I just finished the third book in the Raven Cycle and I am also listening to them. TBH, I wasn’t sure how I felt about the narrator because initially I thought he sounded like Donald Trump, lol. Even my husband (who heard the book as he was walking by my office) said that. It was only initially though and I don’t hear the resemblance anymore.

    My TTT, if you’re interested

    Like

    • I am just waiting for the third audiobook to become available from my library, and I haven’t listened to many audiobooks so I am not a great judge of narration. I can hear the resemblance to Donald Trump a bit, but I’d never really noticed it before. Interesting observation.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh my gosh, I LOVED The Sun is Also a Star. Have you read Everything, Everything? It’s by the same author and is also pretty great.
    I read The Unexpected Everything not that long ago, and while it was pretty good, I liked Since You’ve Been Gone (also by Morgan Matson) better. All of these books sound good!
    xx
    Em

    Like

Leave a Reply

