Top Ten Unique Books on my TBR

I’m back again with another Top Ten Tuesday post (hosted by The Broke and The Bookish). Today’s theme is Top Ten Of The Most Unique Books I’ve Read but as per one of the suggested variations I am going to do the top ten most unique books on my TBR, which will be more my opinion from reading the blurb with will avoid the problem of me only ever talking about the same few books which I have noticed happening quite a lot in tag/top ten tuesdays. For this list I will only be taking books off my TBR list, which for me is a list of books that I am definitely going to read.

 

Unfortunately considering I am in the middle of going through my TBR again in order to cut it down this means I need to finish that first. Yay, another great way to procrastinate.

Ok, that’s done. I may have just cut three hundred books from my multiple tbr piles. Wow. I am so proud of myself.

If you want to read about how I cut down my tbr you can check out my How to Manage Your TBR post.

Now on to the top ten.

But wait, there’s something else I want to discuss first. What is a unique book? How do I pick what is the most unique book? Well for me personally I am going to say that unique book are books that I am unable to find similar books for. So these books might not actually be super unique to you, you might have read a book that’s really similar to it. I read a lot of fantasy so there won’t be many fantasy books on this list because sometimes it feels like I’ve seen it all before. Whereas I don’t read many contemporaries so I am much more easily accepting of common tropes.

 

Admiral by Sean Danker

24452990

Synopsis

“I was on a dead ship on an unknown planet with three trainees freshly graduated into the Imperial Service. I tried to look on the bright side.”

He is the last to wake. The label on his sleeper pad identifies him as an admiral of the Evagardian Empire—a surprise as much to him as to the three recent recruits now under his command. He wears no uniform, and he is ignorant of military protocol, but the ship’s records confirm he is their superior officer.

Whether he is an Evagardian admiral or a spy will be of little consequence if the crew members all end up dead. They are marooned on a strange world, their ship’s systems are failing one by one—and they are not alone.

(from goodreads)

Why

I really like survival stories, and space stories, and memory loss, and stories with deception and trust problems. However I have never seen all of these aspects in one book. This is probably not the most unique book on the list but it doesn’t sound like anything I’ve read before. It does sound kind of like a movie or tv episode though.

 

Forest of a Thousand Lanterns by Julie C Dao

33958230Synopsis

An East Asian fantasy reimagining of The Evil Queen legend about one peasant girl’s quest to become Empress–and the darkness she must unleash to achieve her destiny.

Eighteen-year-old Xifeng is beautiful. The stars say she is destined for greatness, that she is meant to be Empress of Feng Lu. But only if she embraces the darkness within her. Growing up as a peasant in a forgotten village on the edge of the map, Xifeng longs to fulfill the destiny promised to her by her cruel aunt, the witch Guma, who has read the cards and seen glimmers of Xifeng’s majestic future. But is the price of the throne too high?

Because in order to achieve greatness, she must spurn the young man who loves her and exploit the callous magic that runs through her veins–sorcery fueled by eating the hearts of the recently killed. For the god who has sent her on this journey will not be satisfied until his power is absolute.

(from goodreads)

Why

Well this book hasn’t actually been released yet so I don’t really know how unique it is. This book kind of reminds me of Heartless by Marissa Meyer in a way, except the character is an anti-hero from the beginning I think? But it’s also an east asian fairy tale retelling, something I haven’t seen much off.

 

Three Truths and A Lie by Brent Hartinger

26927401Synopsis

A weekend retreat in the woods and an innocent game of three truths and a lie go horribly wrong.

Deep in the forest, four friends gather for a weekend of fun.

Truth #1: Rob is thrilled about the weekend trip. It’s the perfect time for him to break out of his shell…to be the person he really, really wants to be.

Truth #2: Liam, Rob’s boyfriend, is nothing short of perfect. He’s everything Rob could have wanted. They’re perfect together. Perfect.

Truth #3: Mia has been Liam’s best friend for years…long before Rob came along. They get each other in a way Rob could never, will never, understand.

Truth #4: Galen, Mia’s boyfriend, is sweet, handsome, and incredibly charming. He’s the definition of a Golden Boy…even with the secrets up his sleeve.

One of these truths is a lie…and not everyone will live to find out which one it is.

(from goodreads)

Why

As I said earlier I really love novels with deception and trust issues so this sounds right up my alley. Unreliable narrators!! yay. Only thing is I thought the game was two truths and a lie? Not three truths and a lie… but nevermind. As far as a thriller type novel goes this seems pretty unique.

 

Dare Mighty Things by Heather Kaczynski

29523636Synopsis

THE RULES ARE SIMPLE: You must be gifted. You must be younger than twenty-five. You must be willing to accept the dangers that you will face if you win.

Seventeen-year-old Cassandra Gupta’s entire life has been leading up to this—the opportunity to travel to space. But to secure a spot on this classified mission, she must first compete against the best and brightest people on the planet. People who are as determined as she to win a place on a journey to the farthest reaches of the universe.

Cassie is ready for the toll that the competition will take; the rigorous mental and physical tests designed to push her to the brink of her endurance. But nothing could have prepared her for the bonds she would form with the very people she hopes to beat. Or that with each passing day it would be more and more difficult to ignore the feeling that the true objective of the mission is being kept from her.

As the days until the launch tick down and the stakes rise higher than ever before, only one thing is clear to Cassie: she’ll never back down . . . even if it costs her everything.

(from goodreads)

Why

Another currently unreleased novel. Once again, I love space. I also really like competition and survival. Apart from really dystopian novels I haven’t read many books with a group of kids competing like this. And this book seems kind of sci-fi?? I am excitied.

 

Not Your Sidekick by C. B. Lee

29904219Synopsis

Welcome to Andover… where superpowers are common, but internships are complicated. Just ask high school nobody, Jessica Tran. Despite her heroic lineage, Jess is resigned to a life without superpowers and is merely looking to beef-up her college applications when she stumbles upon the perfect (paid!) internship—only it turns out to be for the town’s most heinous supervillain. On the upside, she gets to work with her longtime secret crush, Abby, who Jess thinks may have a secret of her own. Then there’s the budding attraction to her fellow intern, the mysterious “M,” who never seems to be in the same place as Abby. But what starts as a fun way to spite her superhero parents takes a sudden and dangerous turn when she uncovers a plot larger than heroes and villains altogether.

(from goodreads)

Why

This was released recently and I think it is very unique. Firstly diversity, but also super villains!! I really like the idea of a world where a lot of people have super powers, I am hoping for a kind of sci-fi story.

 

The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks by E. Lockhart

1629601Synopsis

Frankie Landau-Banks at age 14:
Debate Club.
Her father’s “bunny rabbit.”
A mildly geeky girl attending a highly competitive boarding school.

Frankie Landau-Banks at age 15:
A knockout figure.
A sharp tongue.
A chip on her shoulder.
And a gorgeous new senior boyfriend: the supremely goofy, word-obsessed Matthew Livingston.

Frankie Laundau-Banks.
No longer the kind of girl to take “no” for an answer.
Especially when “no” means she’s excluded from her boyfriend’s all-male secret society.
Not when her ex boyfriend shows up in the strangest of places.
Not when she knows she’s smarter than any of them.
When she knows Matthew’s lying to her.
And when there are so many, many pranks to be done.

Frankie Landau-Banks, at age 16:
Possibly a criminal mastermind.

This is the story of how she got that way.

(from goodreads)

Why

This sounds so cool, and it is quite an old book that has won a bunch of prizes. The first half of the synopsis sounds really stereotypical but the second half!! I get a historical vibe from this but maybe it is set in the current day, either way I am all about this vibe.

 

The Truth About Alice by Jennifer Mathieu

16068341Synopsis

Everyone knows Alice slept with two guys at one party.

But did you know Alice was sexting Brandon when he crashed his car?

It’s true. Ask ANYBODY.

Rumor has it that Alice Franklin is a slut. It’s written all over the bathroom stall at Healy High for everyone to see. And after star quarterback Brandon Fitzsimmons dies in a car accident, the rumors start to spiral out of control.

In this remarkable debut novel, four Healy High students—the girl who has the infamous party, the car accident survivor, the former best friend, and the boy next door—tell all they know.

But exactly what is the truth about Alice? In the end there’s only one person to ask: Alice herself.

(from goodreads)

Why

Well it’s told from a bunch of people who aren’t actually Alice so we get other perspectives. It sounds kind of like a news report where they’re interviewing a bunch of different people sounds really interesting and different.

 

Sleeping Giants by Sylvain Neuvel

25733990Synopsis

A girl named Rose is riding her new bike near her home in Deadwood, South Dakota, when she falls through the earth. She wakes up at the bottom of a square hole, its walls glowing with intricate carvings. But the firemen who come to save her peer down upon something even stranger: a little girl in the palm of a giant metal hand.

Seventeen years later, the mystery of the bizarre artifact remains unsolved—its origins, architects, and purpose unknown. Its carbon dating defies belief; military reports are redacted; theories are floated, then rejected.

But some can never stop searching for answers.

Rose Franklin is now a highly trained physicist leading a top secret team to crack the hand’s code. And along with her colleagues, she is being interviewed by a nameless interrogator whose power and purview are as enigmatic as the provenance of the relic. What’s clear is that Rose and her compatriots are on the edge of unraveling history’s most perplexing discovery—and figuring out what it portends for humanity. But once the pieces of the puzzle are in place, will the result prove to be an instrument of lasting peace or a weapon of mass destruction?

An inventive debut in the tradition of World War Z and The Martian, told in interviews, journal entries, transcripts, and news articles, Sleeping Giants is a thriller fueled by a quest for truth—and a fight for control of earthshaking power.

(from goodreads)

Why

I have been seeing a lot of this book recently and the format is very unique, as is the story in my mind. It is such an interesting idea. I like how intense the plot seems and how big.

 

Burn for Burn by Jenny Han and Siobhan Vivian

13406425Synopsis

Postcard-perfect Jar Island is home to charming tourist shops, pristine beaches, amazing oceanfront homes—and three girls secretly plotting revenge.

KAT is sick and tired of being bullied by her former best friend.

LILLIA has always looked out for her little sister, so when she discovers that one of her guy friends has been secretly hooking up with her, she’s going to put a stop to it.

MARY is perpetually haunted by a traumatic event from years past, and the boy who’s responsible has yet to get what’s coming to him.

None of the girls can act on their revenge fantasies alone without being suspected. But together…anything is possible.

With an alliance in place, there will be no more “I wish I’d said…” or “If I could go back and do things differently…” These girls will show Jar Island that revenge is a dish best enjoyed together.

(from goodreads)

Why

This is revenge story. A revenge story about teenage girls. I really like the idea of that. I don’t think I have actually read a story like this that doesn’t feel really trashy (for want of a better word), as in I feel like this story will actually have a plot despite the massive amount of cliches I am expecting. Sometimes you just need to read some high school drama. TBH this was a last minute addition because I only had nine books.

 

Scythe by Neal Shusterman

28954189Synopsis

Thou shalt kill.

A world with no hunger, no disease, no war, no misery. Humanity has conquered all those things, and has even conquered death. Now scythes are the only ones who can end life—and they are commanded to do so, in order to keep the size of the population under control.

Citra and Rowan are chosen to apprentice to a scythe—a role that neither wants. These teens must master the “art” of taking life, knowing that the consequence of failure could mean losing their own.

(from goodreads)

Why

This world seems so interesting. I love the idea of a world without death and I am so interested to see how that plays out. I am more interested in the world building than the actual plot, but I just want to see how it is done.

Top Ten Unique Books on My TBR.png

Those are the most unique books I could find on my TBR. If any of them sound interesting to you then let me know, and if some of these aren’t unique to you because of other books you’ve read then also let me know.

20 thoughts on “Top Ten Unique Books on my TBR

  1. I also have wanted to read Scynthe but I just haven’t gotten there yet! Forest of A Thousand Lanterns sound so amazing! I’ve been looking forward to it for SO LONG! I hope you’re able to get to some of these books this year!

    Like

  2. Ohhh yes Neal Shusterman ALWAYS seems to write really unique books!! Like Challenger Deep and Bruiser are super different and odd too?!? And I love them so much. 😍I can’t wait to read Scythe!! And also I’m really keen to read Not Your Sidekick because I think it looks like it’ll turn some tropes on their head which is always fun.😜

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m inwardly cringing at pretty much all the covers on this list. XDD But anyways! SCYTHE IS SO AMAZING AND YOU MUST READ IT SO I CAN FANGIRL ABOUT IT WITH YOU BECAUSE AAAAAGGGGGGGGGHHHHHHHHHH ROWAAAAAAAAAAN MY BABBBBYYYYYY that ending tho.

    Like

Leave a Reply

