Rapid Fire Book Tag

I am still SUPER busy with school so writing reviews is going to have to be put off for a few days, luckily Bella from Bella Blogs Because Books tagged me in the Rapid Fire Book Tag.

 

Physical Book or Ebook

Physical book, you can’t beat the feeling of book pages beneath your hands and I like carrying books around so I can see who the bookish people are.

 

Paperback or Hardback

I have always been a paperback girl, they’re cheaper, easier to carry and take up (marginally) less room on my bookshelf. The only hardcovers I have are of one specific series, a few second hand ones I bought and the hardcover of Caraval that I bought a few weeks ago and was really excited about. Here are some pictures I took.

Isn’t it super adorable??? I kind of don’t want to read it now to keep it fresh… but I will eventually. It’s more time that’s an issue right now but we’ll talk about that more in my February wrap up.

 

Online or In Store Book Shopping

I love in store, but I am starting to love online too. I like getting the package of my book and opening it and feeling so happy about it. But the process of going and picking up a book will always be important and special.

 

Trilogies or Series

Series, I read a lot of fantasy and that’s where you get a bunch of really good super long series. I also think that trilogies are common in paranormal romances and dystopian novels which although they have their hype most of them don’t end up being super great. I’m committed to the characters and the plot long term so I want it to be as fleshed out and long as the story needs to be. Not to say I won’t read trilogies, they’re good because they’re fast compared to long series, however I do love the long series.

 

Heroes or Villains

Heroes, often because more effort is put into writing them. There are some good villains out there but there are so many amazing heroes, plus I love watching them struggle and fight back and grow on their journey and what they stand for and the friendships they make.

 

A Book You Want Everyone to Read

The Obernewtyn Chronicles by Isobelle Carmody, but if that monster of a series is too much for you which I totally understand considering it is seven books long and the last few books are a thousand pages each, I recommend The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater which is a standalone and will get you hooked on the rest of her books if you aren’t already. Phew that was a long sentence.

 

Recommend an Underrated Book

I’ve actually done a whole blog post on underrated books, but I think the one I would recommend the most is Between the Lives by Jessica Shirvington, she is an Australian author and this stand alone really messed me up emotionally. It was such an interesting concept and I’ve heard that her other books are pretty good to so I plan on giving them a go soon. (haha I say soon, I mean in the next five years).

 

The Last Book You Finished

Heir of Thunder by Karissa Laurel, I have a review coming soon (that was the post I was going to write for today but it would have taken so much more time so it will be up sometime in the next week) but basically my thoughts are that it was good but could have been better.

 

The Last Book You Bought

I have actually been buying a lot of books recently. I want to be able to say that the last book I bought was The Hate You Give because I want it so badly, but it was either my copy of Caraval or Windwitch.

 

Weirdest Thing You’ve Used as a Bookmark

Ummm I don’t think I can pick just one, I’ve used bracelets, my phone, clothing, my arm, my toe, scraps of paper, train tickets… pretty much anything I can get my hands on.

 

Used Books: Yes or No?

Yes, I love used book shopping even thought I’ve only been a few times, I did manage to find a few good books that way so even though it takes time it’s worth it.

 

Top Three Favorite Genres

Fantasy, sci-fi and … hmmm what else do I read???? maybe post apocalyptic? does that count as a genre?? I like survival stories pretty much.

 

Borrow or Buy

I used to go through so many books it would have been uneconomical to buy them, but now I just borrow because I am used to it and I don’t have that much money. Plus borrowing gives you a deadline of sorts.

 

Characters or Plot

As much as I love a clever plot it has to be the characters that are most important to me. I need to have people I can get behind or the book isn’t worth my time.

 

Long or Short Books

Long. How long is the average book? Like three hundred pages (I think…) how long is the average book that I read? Like five hundred pages…. I think it’s because I read so many long epic fantasies.

 

Long or Short Chapters

This is a difficult one, if I am liking the book then I don’t mind if the chapters are super long but if I am not liking the book much then longer chapters are only going to annoy me more. How long are chapters on average?? because right now the ones in my english texts are thirty to fifty pages each… that’s not normal right?? or am I just noticing it more because I am hating every second of reading them?

 

Name the First Three Books You Think Of:

  1. Shift by Em Bailey – really cool but better not to know anything going in
  2. Matched by Allie Condie – dystopian… not great… check out her other books
  3. The Paladin Prophecy by Mark Frost – cool in the first book but gets weird after that

Ahh I hate questions like this because my mind goes a thousand miles a minute so figuring out which books I thought of first is a traumatic experience.

 

Books That Make You Laugh or Cry?

It’s really difficult for books to make me laugh and still pretty hard for books to make me cry, I like the ones that can make me laugh more but there aren’t many of those at all.

 

Our World or Fictional Worlds?

I’m a fantasy reader… fictional worlds will always be more interesting to me.

 

Audiobooks: Yes or No?

Yes. Although some are pretty bad there are some great ones out there and they are so good for multitasking.

 

Do You Ever Judge Books By Their Covers?

Yes. I always see books with old covers and think they must be boring when I’ve actually found some of my favorite books that way.

 

Book To Movie or Book To TV Adaptations

Hmm well neither if they’re going to be bad, but if they’re good then book to tv because there’s more of it. Plus I watch more TV shows. Also I think that the reason a lot of book to movie adaptations go wrong is because they want to make it more exciting and have a major fight at the end or something which is less of a problem in TV shows. They have more freedom to do what they want.

 

A Movie or TV Show You Preferred to Its Book?

I actually don’t watch a lot of book adaptations in their movie/tv form and most of the ones I have seen were pretty bad. Some that I thought were good adaptations and I liked as much as the book are the Harry Potter Movies and the Pride and Prejudice movies/mini series.

 

Series or Standalone?

Series for sure, I can’t deal with only just getting to know the world then being torn away from it. Although there are actually a lot of standalone novels I like too.

 

I Tag:

(some of my newer followers)

18 thoughts on “Rapid Fire Book Tag

  1. GOOD POST! Personally I LOVE the idea of audiobooks. Unfortunately, when the time comes around to work or do something, I almost NEVER seem to have it on me for one reason or another. Hopefully I’ll get to actually listening to a FULL book. I normally only get a good hour in and then forget about it. Have an AMAZING DAY!
    -Jared

    Like

    1. Uhhh that would be so annoying. I tend to borrow my audio books from the library so it’s just finding a time when I will be doing a lot of activities I can multitask with audiobooks. Hope you have a good day too.

      Like

  2. I’ve never got along with audiobooks, I recently tried one again and even though it was a really great audiobook I just couldn’t take anything in properly, I had to go back and read it the old fashioned way. I guess I’m just stuck in my ways!

    Like

  3. Oh, yay! I was tagged! :P This looks super fun, and it was super fun to read! And AGH CARAVAL LOOKS SO COOL! I agree: Physical books always! And who doesn’t judge books by their covers? 😂 I really enjoyed this post, Emma! (And thanks so much for tagging me! 😄)

    Like

      1. I’m excited to answer them! XD And I’ve heard great reviews on it, though that gorgeous cover made me fall in love with it. (Even though I haven’t read it yet.) And doesn’t it have another cover besides that gold one? Honestly, both are just so PRETTY.

        Like

Leave a Reply

