Top Ten Fantasy Slow Burn Relationships

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. This week’s theme is romance in honor of valentines day. So here are my top ten fantasy slow burn relationships… except there aren’t really ten of them. There’s ten individuals which adds up to five pairs. I really like slow burn romances because there is so much tension and you get so attached to the characters and their relationship. Additionally, I read a lot of fantasy novels so most of these relationships are from fantasy novels.

 

Cinder and Kai from The Lunar Chronicles

I only read Cinder a week ago and I still haven’t read Winter but I am so attached to the relationship between Cinder and Kai, and if they don’t end up together I am going to be so upset. Plus these two are the very definition of a slow burn relationship. They aren’t together yet and it’s nearly the last book, but it’s pretty predictable that they will be.

 

Blue and Gansey from The Raven Cycle

I have only read the first two books in this quartet but the relationship between Blue and Gansey is so natural and develops so well as the series goes. I also appreciate the friendship between them and how that is so important to the series too. I’m not actually sure if they end up together but I really want them to, so they’re on this list.

 

Darrow and Mustang from Red Rising

These two… I was kind of unsure about whether I wanted them together originally, and especially when things whet bad and the series became so much more focused on the war and violence but it was cute to see all the little moments that they had.

 

Percy and Annabeth from Percy Jackson

These two are so cute together, and I really appreciate that they had all the non romantic moments before they became a couple because they were so young at the beginning of the series so it would have just been weird. These two compliment each other nicely and SO many people are in full support of their relationship due to the romantic tension of those first few books.

 

Ron and Hermione from Harry Potter

You can’t not like these two together, and the development of the relationship between them was so natural it just seemed so right when they finally got together. They faced so many challenges together and unlike Ginny and Harry’s relationship which personally I thought was a bit unnecessary, Ron and Hermione complimented each other really well. I feel like they would be a really cute couple even in old age.

 

Let me know what your favorite slow burn relationships from fantasy novels are, I did this list in a bit of a rush due to computer problems so let me know if there are any major ones that I missed.

24 thoughts on “Top Ten Fantasy Slow Burn Relationships

  1. YAY for a Cinder shoutout. That is a series I’ve yet to read, but with all of the praise heaped on it, I have a feeling I’m going to love the series. And I already like the sound of this relationship. :)

    Like

  2. The Blue/Gansey relationship is definitely interesting. Especially considering what Blue knows about Gansey from the beginning of the first book. The Raven Cycle is one of my all-time favorite series’. Great list. Happy reading!

    eli @ the (book) supplier
    My TTT

    Like

  3. I love this weeks topic, it is fun to see what people decided to go with and I love your choice. This combines two of my favourite things, slow burn romance and fantasy. Hermione & Ron are my ultimate OTP, I just love them so much. Darrow & Mustang are also fantastic, I was unsure about them as well but they are really great together. You can check out my post on romances here.

    Like

Leave a Reply

