Monthly Recommendations

Monthly Recommendations is a goodreads group hosted by Trina from Between Chapters and Kayla from Kayla Raine. Here’s a link if you want to get involved. This month’s topic is family focused so I’ll be recommending to you some books with amazing family relationships. Let’s get into it.

 

The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater (link)

I am only half way through the second book so no spoilers please. Both the psychics of 300 Fox Way and the Raven Boys act like close families even if they aren’t related by blood. Moira is a wonderful mother who has her own flaws and character development and wants to best for her daughter. Orla and Blue’s relation may not always be a positive one but I can tell that they would always be there for each other. Even Calla and Persephone fit into the family and are accepted there.

 

The 5th Wave by Rick Yancy (link)

If you’ve read this book then you know how close Cassie and Sammy are (because Sammy is honestly the cutest) but Cassie’s father is actually a really good family figure too. He looks out for Cassie and Sammy and tries his to keep them safe in a very dangerous situation. Even when he knows that things aren’t going well he still does all that he can.

 

The Selection by Kiera Cass (link)

The Singer family is a great representation of samily. America is close to her mother, father and sister May who are present throughout the series. In The Heir and The Crown, America’s actions towards her kids and their relationships with each other are wonderful examples of how families can support each other.

 

The Wind Singer by William Nicholson (link)

This series is not one I have seen a lot about online, but the two main characters are twins and a lot of the book is focused between the relationship between them and how much they care and support each other. Their parents and younger sister are also really important to the plot and are such supportive and caring people.

 

Keeper of the Lost Cities by Shannon Messanger (link)

I think this book really encompasses the theme off family and what it meets to be a family to me. Additionally this is a book series that I have read with my dad and sister so it is a family experience to me. I like how this series really touches on the struggles families go through and how they deal with problems.

 

The Kane Chronicles by Rick Riordan (link)

The sibling relationship in this series is honestly the cutest. I wish I was this close to my sibling. They always have fun together and somehow this perfectly captures what it feels like to have a sibling, because often you want to roll your eyes and walk away but that doesn’t mean you aren’t their biggest supporter.

 

The Rain by Virginia Bergin (link)

This duology (also called ‘H20’ in America) is an amazing dystopian novel. In it there is a really interesting relationship between the main character Ruby and her step-father which honestly kept me going through the beginning of the book. The sequel also introduces us to some other members of Ruby’s family and it really demonstrated to what lengths people will go to defend those that they care about.

 

Atlantia by Allie Condie (link)

A large part of the focus of this book is on the relationship between Rio and her sister. I loved this book, I thought it was amazing and I thought the idea of it. I liked the way the family relationships were portrayed and although I know some people don’t like this story I hope they can agree that the relationships were good ones.

 

Born Wicked by Jessica Spotswood (link)

Born Wicked follows three sisters who need to look out for each other as they risk their lives trying to fit into their society. The sisters didn’t always get along, in fact there was a lot of conflict between them, however  did like seeing the close relationships that they had. I liked the dynamic between three sisters reasonably close in age, and as an elder sibling I could relate to Cate’s desire to protect her sisters and how she felt annoyed when they weren’t listening to her or appreciating the efforts she was going to.

 

Unfortunately most of mind seem to be about sibling relations, I would love to have some more about actually present parental figures. I’d love to get a link to your monthly recommendations post or video in the comments.

Leave a Reply

