Top Ten Characters I’d Name a Dog After

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly group hosted on The Broke and The Bookish. This weeks’s theme is top ten character’s I’d name a child/pet/car after. I am big fan of dogs, I currently have one called Holly who is a beagle x caviler king charles spaniel. I would like to own more dogs once I am older, so I thought it would be interesting to make this list with that in mind so I can look back on it later.

From the Throne of Glass series by Sarah J Maas

Celeana

This name has an elegant sound to it along with being quite unique. Anyone who knows of the series will be sure to pay attention considering this is the main character. I can imagine myself calling out this name to a dog of almost any type.

 

Dorian

This name would fit a distinguished pooch, possibly a hound of some sort. I imagine it would be a larger dog. Again, it is an uncommon name that would be easily recognized by other fans of the book and rolls off the tongue quite easily.

 

Lysander

This name is very sweet, and I can imagine it fitting to a small dog like a bichon frise. This name is a bit more common and maybe a bit less suited to a dog but I really like her as a character and I still think it would work.

 

Elide

This name is unusual yet not too weird sounding, it is also shorter than the other three in this category which with a dog is a positive. This name would fit most dogs and is less notably linked to a book.

 

From The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater

Blue

This name would work perfectly for a cattle dog, which are often blue in colour. It is simple and easy to say. However it may come up in general conversation which may be a bit confusing for your dog.

 

Gansey

I actually really like this name for a dog. It is unusual and would be recognized by fans of the series, however it doesn’t sound super strange and it still a short name. I can imagine this name for a golden retriever or a beagle.

 

From the Keeper of the Lost Cities series by Shannon Messenger

Keefe

Keefe is my fav character in the series so I would love to name a dog after him. This name actually fits a dog quite well and most dogs are very mischievous (as is the character). This is another one of my top picks.

 

Dex

This is a short and simple name that would be great for a dog. Dex is a great character and has several traits I would love in a dog, he is loyal and friendly along with being always there when Sophie (the main character) needs him.

 

From Other Books

Micah Bayar

Micah Bayar from the Seven Realms Quartet by Cinda Williams Chima would be the perfect name for a dog. Bayar makes me think of Baying, a noise that some dogs make that is similar to a howl. Micah is short and easy to say. I will probably use this one at some point.

 

Elspeth

This name, from the Obernewtyn Chronicles by Isobelle Carmody, is one that would fit a sweet little dog. You could always use the nickname ‘Elf’ which is a benefit none of the other names have.

 

What other names would you add to this list?

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Characters I’d Name a Dog After

  1. I’ve seen Blue and Gansey on a lot of lists today, and I love them both. I’ve not read The Raven Cycle yet (although I really mean to) but even I’d name a pet after some of the characters.

    Like

  2. I love the name Lysandra, and I didn’t even think of Elide, which is beautiful as well! When we were looking for dogs, one of the possible names was blue because we wanted an Australian Cattle Dog (blue or red heeler). We ended up getting a red heeler though, so we didn’t go with Blue. It would have been so cute if you did name a blue heeler Blue though! My TTT: http://glitteringreads.com/2016/10/18/ten-wonderful-names-i-might-just-use-for-my-future-cats/

    Like

Leave a Reply

