September Monthly Recommendations

Monthly Recommendations is a goodreads group hosted by Trina from Between Chapters and Kayla from Kayla Rayne. This month’s topic is sci-fi, so here I am with my best sci-fi recommendations and considering sci-fi is one of my two favorite genres (with the other being fantasy) I have quite a few.

Ender’s Game

Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card is, at least in my mind, a stable in the sci-fi genre. This is a story of growing up unsure of the world around you, of space battles and of tactics. I loved the systematic nature of this book and how it kept you guessing right until the end. You get to watch the characters grow and it really explores some of the darker sides of humanity.

 

Uglies

The Uglies series by Scott Westerfeld is a dystropian novel set in a world where everyone wants to be perfect, and they can be as long as they follow the society’s rules. The series follows Tally, a teenager who doesn’t really know what she is doing or what side she is on. This series has some really nice scenes about what it really means to be yourself. It shares similarities with other dystopians like Divergent, but I am pretty sure it was written beforehand and there is something quite different about the messages it portays.

 

Legend

The Legend Trilogy by Marie Lu is another great sci-fi dystopian novel. The society in it is closer to what already exists today, and in my eyes the series avoids many of the overdramaticisations that are present in other dystopians. No one is truly bad, and the same is true for governments. Legend focuses more on the people involved, and although this might be a controversial opinion I really liked the ending to the trilogy.

 

The City of Ember

The City of Ember series by Jeanne DuPrau is a sci-fi novel that is a bit more like a fantasy. It does take place in a world that is meant to be ours in the future, however events that have occurred mean it is quite different. The first and third books in the series are probably the most similar to what you would expect of a sci-fi novel. The characters are amazingly loveable and the novel really focuses on their development. There is also an element of mystery as to what is going on.

 

Across the Universe

I will start this by saying I have only read the first book in this trilogy, however Across the Universe by Beth Revis was a really great sci-fi read. Don’t be put off by the cover as I was, although present in the novel the sci-fi elements and plot are really more important than the romance. This novel was set on a space ship in the future, with a cryogenically frozen people and technological advancements. I don’t know how the rest of the series goes, but I really enjoyed the first book a lot.

 

Inside Out

Inside Out by Maria V Snyder has all the classic elements of a dystopian novel with a class system and a strange city. This is a duology and the second book is a bit weird, however the first one is a great sci-fi that combines classic sci-fi elements with a dystopian setting and ends up with some really loveable characters. I would highly recommend it.

 

Red Rising

An up and coming sci-fi is the Red Rising trilogy by Pierce Brown (my reviews here and here). I have not yet read Morning Star, the last book in the trilogy, however I really enjoyed the other two and have high hopes for Pierce Brown. Red Rising is somehow YA and adult fiction at the same time, like a transition between the two. It is also both dystopian and very spacey with planetary battles and lazer weapons. It reminds me of Ender’s Game.

 

Time Riders

I have only just finished the Time Riders series by Alex Scarrow (series review coming soon) and I do admit that the first few books in the series are much more focused on time travel to the past, (although the idea of  time travel is very sci-fi) but the end of the series is VERY much focused on the future. And true to the genre, there is more to this series than it first appears like there is. The series is quick to read, with the books ranging between 300 and 400 pages and while the beginning of the series gets a bit repetitive I would highly recommend reading it.

What are your top sci-fi recommendations?

2 thoughts on “September Monthly Recommendations

  1. Enders Game was on my list too! I also thought about including Red Rising but I wanted to keep it a small list this month. I still have to finish Morning Star as well, but Im not sure that Im ready for the ending! As for the others, Legend is on my shelf waiting to be read, Im just finishing Marie Lu’s The Yound Elites before I start Legend. City of Embers is one that has been suggested to me before and perhaps it needs to be added to my TBR. Great list!

    Like

Leave a Reply

