Top Ten Books to Read with Friends

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish. This week the theme is something to do with school, and one of the best things about school is getting to spend time with your friends. Most of my friends read at least a little and a lot of the relationships I have with people have been built upon books and reading, and specifically recommending books to each other or talking about books we have both read so today I have decided to recommend ten books to read and talk about with friends although it is more like top ten series. Obviously there are always going to be highly popular books that people love to talk about including Harry Potter, Percy Jackson and Throne of Glass which are basically staples of the fantasy genre for our generation.

 

 

The Maze Runner by James Dashner

The Maze Runner, specifically the first one, is great to read with friends due to the level of mystery and suspense present in the book. This series isn’t too long, however there are also movies which have been coming out for the past few years which I have seen every year with a friend that I also read the books at the same time as.

 

Ranger’s Apprentice series by John Flanagan

I read all of this series in a few weeks, but while I was reading it and soon afterwards there were two or three of my friends that were at different points through the series. It was good to talk with each of them about my opinions of the series and characters, and because the series is so extensive there is lots to talk about and it is great to borrow them off friends to save you the trouble of buying them all.

 

Princess Academy by Shannon Hale

This book was a really cute one to read and there were a bunch of characters to get attached to. I borrowed this book off a friend, and I have to say that it isn’t the sort of book that I would normally choose to read. However it was her type of book, so we both read it and talked about it. This one is a series but the first one finishes off nicely so you don’t really need to read the others.

 

Skulduggery Pleasant by Derek Landy

One of my friends has read this series and loved it, I have only read the first one but I know that when I get around to reading the whole series I will have a lot of fun. The premise of this story is a bit bizarre but it provides heaps of opportunities for discussion and inside jokes, plus the series is quite long.

 

7 Souls by Barnabas Miller

The sheer weirdness of this book made it one that my friends and I talked about with great excitement. It’s a stand alone and has elements of a thriller or mystery novel but if I’m honest with you it’s hard to but into one genre. Reading this with friends is guaranteed to prompt many conversations on how to commit a murder and what the heck is even going on in the character’s minds.

 

Time Riders series by Alex Scarrow

This is a series that I am currently on the last book of, and it does get quite crazy by that point, but the first few books in the series I read at the same time as a friend and we both thoroughly enjoyed it. History and alternate versions of it are always fun to talk and hypothesize about and there are several plot twists in this series that I enjoyed chatting about with my friends.

 

The Alchemist by Michael Scott

Another wonderful series full of magic and incredibly lovable characters, plus some crazy events that only people who have read the books will understand when you talk about them. This series is going to twist your brain so make sure to have a friend handy to chat about it all with.

 

The Rain by Virginia Bergin

This duology was a bit deal in my corner of the world for a few months and I knew around five people who had read and loved it. They hyped me up for this book and I wasn’t disappointed. The main character, although being slightly annoying, is someone I could relate to and I found the way that she told the story to be really interesting.

 

Pretty Girl by J.C. Burke

This was probably the book that started off me buddy reading with friends. I had been reading it and was about half way though, then one of my friends saw it and picked it up at her local library and sped through it. There are plenty of twists and turns in this thriller that make it perfect for reading with friends.

 

Mind Games by Teri Terry

This book is one I am just about to start reading, and one of my friends is part way through it. From their words ‘I just need someone to complain to about this book’. From what I gather, there are parts of this book that she is really annoyed by and what better reason to read a book with someone than to complain about the bits that annoy you.

 

Do you have any recommendations of books that are perfect to read with friends?

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Books to Read with Friends

  1. Shannon Hale is an author I see around the blogosphere quite often though I don’t believe I’ve ever read one of her books. Someday I should remedy that oversight. :)

    Like

Leave a Reply

