Pokemon Book Tag

I have seen this tag going around in the blogging community and thought I would give it a go. A lot of my friends have been playing Pokemon Go recently and although I don’t play it myself I think it is a great game. The tag and accompanying graphics were created by Read at Midnight

I never actually played the origional pokemon, so these three were never my starters. I think if I had to pick now I would choose Charmander because look how cute he is. My bookish starter is going to be The Fairy’s Return and Other Princess Tales by Gail Carson Levine. These were some of my first books and I absolutely love them. They are interesting take on common fairy tales.

Ahhh Pikachu. He really is a classic, although a hard to obtain one. The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis.This is one of the first classics that I think I read when I was seven or eight. They have some great themes that are applicable to all age groups.

I don’t think that there are books I have lost intest in purely because it is everywhere. However a book that I have rethought my opinions on is the Hunger Games. This book was everywhere four or five years ago and although I enjoyed it, I’m not sure it was deserving of that much hype.

For me this book is the Trylle trilogy by Amanda Hocking. I feel like this series is similar to other fairy/changling stories and I swear I have read something similar before. I did however really enjoy reading the story. All the characters felt real and I loved the world that was created.

I am going to have to pick theLord of the Rings series by J.R.R. Tolkien. I haven’t read these yet because there are so many and they are so big. Everyone I know who has read them loves them and Middle Earth is one of the staple fantasy worlds so I need to do this.

I used to read at night all the time but recently I have been reading more throughout the day and in the early hours of the morning. However there was a book that made me push through my tiredness and that book was Born Wicked by Jessica Spotswood. I loved the quaint nature of this book and how easily everything fell into place.

I must admit that I was never really one to get into bookish OTPs, I tend to just ship whoever is a canon but some that I have a lot of love for include Cate and Finn from the aformentioned Born Wicked by Jessica Spotswood, Dex and Sophie from the Keeper of the Lost Cities series (my review here) and Elspeth and Rushton from the Obernewtyn Chronicles

Ahh Rapidash was one of my favourite pokemon. There are many ways to defind a fast paced read but I am going to go with Afterworlds by Scott Westerfeld. I read this in a day or two and I could not put it down. I even tried to read it during my PE lesson at school… my team still won so I count it as a success.

I could choose nothing less than the Percy Jackson series by Rick Riordan. This was one of the series that pushed my reading into highschool where my friends were all obsessed with the books. For as long as I can remember there have been more of Rick Riordan’s books coming out and I have a very strong emotional attatchment to the characters. I need to know more of their lives, so I will always accept new spin offs.

Across the Universe by Beth Revis fits this perfectly. I picked this up because the synopsis was interesting then didn’t read it because the cover put me off and I had other things to be reading. Roughly a year later after a recommendation from a friend I picked the book up again and loved it. I haven’t read the rest of the series since I read the first one a year and a half ago but I do want to. Despite the cover the majority of the books wasn’t romance focused which was the main thing making me not want to read it.

This one has to be the Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer. I still haven’t read this series and there is so much hype out there about them, but I am still so ready to read them just as soon as they become avaliable at my library, or as soon as I see them in a bookstore and make a (possibly rash) purchase.

I don’t have many collector’s editions if any, but after looking through some online that needs to change. There are so many amazing ones, but I have to start with this Lord of the Rings box set that has amazingly glossy covers.

Ok well… I tend not to read book for a few years after they come out, but I am going to stay away from some debuts that have come out and I have seen a lot of hype for. One debut that I am excited to read and haven’t seen much hype for are The Star Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi

Due to my low budge I don’t have ANY auto buy authors. I do however have auto add to my to-read list authors. Some of these include Sarah J Maas, Shannon Messenger and Maria V Snyder

I have been waiting what seems like forever for the release of The Midnight Star by Marie Lu. I need this book in my life NOW.

What books have you been waiting on the release of?

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

