Motivation

Sooooo camp nano…. yeahh I have some stuff to own up for. (a quick update: 24k). I wanted to be up to 35k now. It has not happened. I know from the way that I write that I will probably not be able to make 10k in one day. My only way of getting back to where I want to be is to slowly chip away at it. I know that if I can do 3k for a few days then I might be able to make it. So below is some things that I am going to use for motivation to keep pushing. Hopefully they help you to.

 

Gosh darn you want to do this

You were the one who signed up so go and DO this. You know it is possible, even thought you skipped those days purely by being lazy. You can still make it. I know you’ve done the calculations in your head.

 

Just set aside the time

Don’t stress and look up tips, you have time so use it. Write, write, write. Don’t worry that you’re not sure where it is going or that it is bad. The only way you can solve those problems is by writing. Or possibly brain storming…

 

Competition is your friend

You know that you will do anything to win, even force yourself through writing when you don’t want to. You have people to do word sprints with, and they really help. When they aren’t available you have a timer you can set and personal bests to make. You also have word crawls that you are doing (currently this one) and they are helping you. You wrote five hundred words in ten minutes, and sure you had to go back and fix it up but that only made it longer.

 

Play to your strengths

You know what you are good at, and they are writing setting description and characters telling others stuff in great detail. USE THEM. Use all the little tips, like writing long sentences and writing words in stead of numbers, and not using contractions. It might not make the story better but it will motivate you to write more which is what we need.

 

so GOSH DARN GET IT TOGETHER

I know you are tired and have been writing a lot. I know you just want to sit down and watch TV or read a book. I know that conditions will never be ideal. THEY NEVER WILL BE. You have to suck it up and go write.

Leave a Reply

