Writer’s Block? More Like Writer’s Indecision

I have noticed that once I start writing I don’t actually get writer’s block. I don’t find it that difficult to think of what could happen next, and if I honestly have no clue then I leave a line and get onto a part that I know what is happening. I then go away and brainstorm or research and come back once I have figured it out.

So no, I don’t get writer’s block. Instead I  get a condition that I have named writer’s indecision. A condition where I have far too many ideas of where the story could go but none of them seem good enough. When I write the scene I can’t help but leave my options open for all the possibilities I am thinking of. I’m not saying this is a bad thing, only that it can get annoying. Sometimes you have to make a decision, and considering I am the one writing this no one else can make this decision for me so I have to buckle down and do it.

It is also really weird that I struggle to be decisive as in every other part of my life I have no trouble in making decisions and weighing up the pros and cons. Writing is my main creative outlet, so I guess I just don’t want to get it ‘wrong’.

When I read over my writing I find a lot of ‘this, or possibly this’ as what the characters are suggesting or thinking is happening. However I think in editing this will be cut out due to it confusing where the plot is going. It is nice when I am trying to add in a plot twist though as it keeps the reader guessing as to what will happen next.

During camp nanowrimo I have been trying to be more decisive in my writing, however considering my characters are in an unknown place with no idea of what is going on I think I am allowed to have them test out a hypothesis and um and ah over making decisions.

Please tell me I’m not the only one who suffers from Writer’s Indecision, and I would love to hear about how your novels are progressing if you are doing camp nanowrimo.

Leave a Reply

