I Changed my Mind

So I thought, with Camp Nanowrimo coming up so soon (ahh not long to go) that I would give you guys a bit of insight into my writing process including how I set my writing goals and other things you might be able to apply to your own writing. As a fun way of doing this I thought I would do a tag. However it seems the universe had something else in store for me.

On Thursday morning I finished a novel, and realised that for July’s camp nano I didn’t want to be writing the novel I’d planned. A novel set in a world I knew, with events that I’d mapped out. I wanted a clean slate. And more than that, I wanted an escape from my fantasy setting. I wanted to leave the island I’d created and invest my time in some new characters. I wanted to write a sci-fi, with epic space battles and clever plot points.

For a few hours I mulled this idea over, unsure of what to do. I messaged a few friends, and asked their opinion. They all told me to go for it, so I did. I went and took a nice long shower to get the ideas flowing, then I went and looked through all the nuggets of stories that I had tucked away on a file on my computer. It felt so liberating. There were many that I just wanted to jump in and write, so I made a list of then all and tried to figure out a plot for each. I experimented with adding sci-fi twists to them, and ended up with a plot-less apocalypse novel that I wouldn’t be able to sustain for a month, but I really wanted to write the characters, a really good premise and even a plot that I didn’t really feel in the mood to write, an idea that I’d had for what seems like forever that with a sci-fi twist could be decent but I just wasn’t excited for, and one of my precious ideas that I could leave as it is… or I could twist it and end up with something I love, however I still lack a full plot for this.

The clock was ticking and I had to decide. I made a list of things I loved about sci-fi novels that I’d read, and tried to incorporate those elements into these ideas. Some of them worked, some of them didn’t. I went back and forth, even wanting to do something completely unrelated to what I had done before. However I think I have finally decided on what to do. I am not going to post a synopsis or anything because I don’t know if it will change, however I am aiming for an Ender’s game or Red Rising (my review) vibe because these are some of my favorite sci-fi novels.

How have you guys gone with planing your July novels? And what do you think of my changing plan?

Leave a Reply

