Top Ten Favorite 2016 Releases So Far This Year

I am going to start off this Top Ten Tuesday (hosted by The Broke and the Bookish) by saying that I haven’t actually read many new releases, so this is more a list of the ones I am just looking forward to the most that have come out recently.

 

1. The Bands of Mourning by Brandon Sanderson

Having just started the Mistborn series myself (my review), any more books out in the same universe is good for me as I really enjoyed my first peak. I loved Brandon Sanderson’s writing style and I loved how he wove everything together so I am looking forward to reading this book.

 

2. The Siren by Kiera Cass

Kiera Cass’s previous series, The Selection was well written but the premise was a bit repetitive and unless you like shows like the bachelor, wasn’t really that interesting. I am looking forward to seeing her branch out into something a bit different. Siren also sounds a bit more up my alley, with a fantasy twist as opposed to a dystopian one.

 

3. Night Study by Maria V Snyder

Maria V Snyder’s books always blow me away, and her world building is amazing. I haven’t read any her book for a year or two but I will be aiming to pick this one up really soon. I don’t really know much about this one and whether it picks up from the Poison Study series but hopefully we will get to see a bit more of those characters we all love.

 

4. Morning Star by Pierce Brown

Considering I am currently reading Golden Sun and have recently finished Red Rising (my review) I am really looking forwards to reading the conclusion to the trilogy. I have high expectations for how the series will end.

 

5. The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater

So many people have raved to me about The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater. I have read her stand along novel, The Scorpio Races, which I loved. So I cannot wait to get my hands on this series, and considering that this is the last book in the series I can  now start reading without having to wait for the whole series to be out.

 

6. Flamecaster by Cinda William Chima

I read Cinda William Chima’s Seven Realms series last year and I have to say I loved it. I am a huge fan of fantasy, and her characters and pacing are major inspirations for me in my own writing. I haven’t met many other people who have read these so I would totally recommend them.

 

7. Let the Wind Rise by Shannon Messenger

I have read all of Shannon Messenger’s Keeper of the Lost Cities series, and the first book in the Sky Fall series, so I need to read the second and third books. I love her writing style, and how easy it is to get into her books.

 

8. A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J Maas

I need to start this series, it sounds amazing and I love Sarah J Maas’s Throne of Glass Series. I just… I need to start this. There is nothing else to say. There are just too many books that I need to read. And the cover is so pretty.

 

9. The Last Star by Rick Yancey

The 5th Wave was the sort of novel that I could imagine reading to my children one day, so although I haven’t read the second book in this series I know I need to start reading this right now. However I also want to be able to sit down and read this slowly… so hopefully in the upcoming holidays I will be able to get to this one.

 

10. Soldier by Julie Kagawa

I saw this at my school library and it just got me so pumped to read it, so hopefully I will be able to grab it soon. I did enjoy the first novel, however I am still undecided as to whether I like this series. I want to see where it is going because it could go either way.

 

That is all for today, and I have just realized how much I need to read so I will be jumping on that as soon as possible. Have you read any of these books that have come out in the past six months? And which ones would you recommend I start reading first?

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Favorite 2016 Releases So Far This Year

  1. ACOMAF! YAYYAYYAYYAYY! It was such an amazing book and I cannot wait for next May when book three comes out. I really need to start the Red Rising Trilogy and the Fifth Wave trilogy soon.

    Have an awesome week!

    Like

Leave a Reply

