The Birthstone Book Tag

Hey all, I decided it was about time you got to know me better so I am going to do the birthstone book tag which I saw on Spines and Covers. The tag was created by Jay GWith my trusty Goodreads bookshelf in hand, let’s get started.

 

January (Garnet): Associated with the warding off of negative forces and dark energies – name a book with the darkest/evilest character you can think of

I’m going to choose Ariel from the Obernewtyn Chronicles. I first read these books when I was maybe 9 years old, so the fear was far more real. To add to that, his motive for violence is that he is mentally unstable and enjoys seeing people in pain. That’s not someone you can reason with, and it’s not killing with a purpose. Ariel is definitely one of the more evil characters I have read of.

 

February (Amethyst): Purple is associated with royalty – name a book with regal qualities…you can base this off of characters or choose the king of all books

I’m choosing City of Masks by Mary Hoffman. This book gives off a fairy tale vibe, which I personally associate with royalty. The story unfolds in a manner that seems effortless, and characters in this book are both noble and powerful. There is also a legitimately royal character in the form of the Duchessa.

 

March (Aquamarine): Washed out – name a ‘wishy washy’ character, a character who is not strong or a follower

I’m choosing Doomed by Tracy Deebs. Despite loving the idea of the plot, and not hating the execution of it, what I did dislike about this novel was the characters. The main character, Pandora, tried to lead her team through the challenges they faced, however the majority of the time she didn’t really help at all. She spent her time running between the tow guys in her love triangle, leading both of them on until she made up her mind. This novel could have been made a whole lot better by further development of all of the characters, not just Pandora.

 

April (Diamond): A diamond in the rough – name a book that you loved but is not well known

I’m choosing The Demon King by Cinda Williams Chima for this one. I don’t know how well known this novel is, but I was introduced to it last year by a friend of a friend. I feel instantly in love with it. The plot is complex and there is so much tension between the two main characters I just wanted them to talk it out. Plus there was an ancient legend being revealed at the sake time, which made it almost like two stories in one.

 

May (Emerald): Said to balance energy – name two characters who balance each other well

I know it’s not quite two characters, but I’m choosing Liam, Maddy and Sal from Time Riders by Alex Scarrow. These characters all mesh perfectly, with Sal’s observational skills, Maddy’s rational thinking and Liam’s ability to keep calm in a crisis. The added fact that they are all from different time zones just makes their ability to collaborate all the more interesting.

 

June (Pearl): Associated with loyalty – name a character who is loyal to the end

I’m going to choose from Ethan Between the Lives by Jessica Shirvington. This book touched me deeply, and left me unsure of what the truth was about the book in a good a way. Despite the plot, my attachment to Ethan as a character was what really made this book for me. He sticks by Sabine, putting her needs in front of his own and ensuring that she makes the right choice.

 

July (Ruby): Blood red – name a book that made your blood boil, one that made you angry

Ok for this I have to say Alliance, from The Paladin Prophecy by Mark Frost. This is the second novel in the series, and let me say the first had great promise. However this book just got ridiculous. There is a level of realism I will accept, and an underground alien civilization is not one of them.

 

August (Peridot): Pale green (it pales in comparison to other gems) – name a supporting character who you like better than the main character

 

This one took me FOREVER to think of, but I finally have to settle with The 5th Wave by Rick Yancy. Although I liked Cassie and Ben, my favorite character by far was Sammy, closely followed by Ringer. I did love this book and all the plots, but some characters were much more fun to read than others.

 

September (Sapphire): Blue like the ocean which is calming – name a nook that had a calming affect on you

For this I choose one of my eternal favorites, Keeper of the Lost Cities by Shannon Messenger. This book opened by eyes to the wonder of rereading books. I believe I read it over five times in a week. I love the plot, the characters, the world… Pretty much everything about this book makes me feel at peace and reminds me of childhood.

 

October (Opal): Iridescent – name an iridescent book, this can be a book with a beautiful cover (shiny? lots of colour?) or you can base it off a character (quirky? colourful?)

Ok this HAS to be Atlantia by Ally Condie. This was the first book of hers that I read, and is the one I love the most.  The characters were quirky and were so complex. This is both a story of siblings, and a romantic story which is the best of both worlds. Plus, the cover is just magical, I mean look at that simplicity! And the water ripples… and the way the A is mirrored… I just loved this book.

 

November (Topaz): Associated with resilience – name a book with a character who rises to the top in a time of adversity

Ruby from The Rain, hands down. Despite being in an apocalyptic situation with many people dead, she keeps going. Even when it looks hopeless, as if there will be no happy ending, Ruby keeps going. This book is truly one of overcoming a seemingly unbeatable adversity. After all, everyone needs water to survive.

 

December (Blue Zircon): Associated with friendship – name a book with a friendship you want to be a part of

I am going to choose the Brother Band series by John Flanagan for this one. This group of misfits are always there for each other, and that is something that I would love to be a part of. They have so many fun adventures and despite all the hardships they stick together.

 

What were your thoughts on these books? Do you agree with my choices? If you would be interested in seeing a review of any of these books, please leave a comment. I would love to share my full thoughts on them with you.

One thought on “The Birthstone Book Tag

  1. Ahhh I am glad you did The Birthstone Tag! It is such a fun tag. ;)
    I haven’t heard of many of these books so I will have to check them out on goodreads! I’d love to see a review of Keeper of the Lost Cities.

    Like

Leave a Reply

